Don’t Discount Your Story.

Don't Discount Your Story (2)

I can’t believe I’m actually doing this. I’ve thought about blogging for a while now, but finally am deciding to take the step. As I was dreaming up all these clever topics for my first “big post”, nothing seemed right. I kept thinking up ideas that eventually led to nowhere. Then it came to me. What better way to start a blog than with a story, right? But this won’t just be about me. Because let’s face it, the world doesn’t revolve around me – although I can sometimes start to think it does. No, this is about my story – and yours.

Don’t you love a good story? They come in many forms: novels, movies, biographies, long ones, short ones, listening to others tell one, children’s books, television shows, bible stories, reading letters that tell stories, etc! All stories are different. The things that happen to the characters/people help the stories develop and eventually lead to the end result. I may seem like I’m blabbering – but this is a blog, right? And I promise I have a point. Here’s a little bit about me…

I grew up going to a small church where my grandpa was the pastor. I have been blessed with incredible Christian parents that I couldn’t be more thankful for. I asked Jesus into my heart when I was 4-years-old. My family and I were very involved in church and it was my decision to be baptized when I was 10-years old. I had the childhood that every kid dreamed of. My best friend lived right next door to me and our neighborhood was my world. Each day I woke up, changed my clothes, slipped my tennis shoes on, threw my hair in a pony tail and was off to conquer the world (my little world). The memories I made growing up are irreplaceable. But when I was in 6th grade, my family moved… several states away. My heart broke, I was devastated. I had never been the “new girl” before. It was hard at first, but I got acclamated and made new friends. Then three years later, we moved again. You can’t imagine how brokenhearted I was. I had to end a 10-month relationship, pack up and leave my friends again? These were some pivotal years of my life. 7th-9th grade can really have an effect on someone. For those three years after our first move, I had always loved the Lord, but I definitely hadn’t been walking with Him. My actions didn’t match up with what I said I was living out.

So we packed up and moved once more. This time might have been the hardest. I was bitter and angry at God. This time we moved to the South; we also moved during the summer. It was hot. It was humid. I had no friends. It rained…every day. I hated it. Why couldn’t God have let me stay put? All I ever wanted was to go to the same high school all four years and graduate with the people I’d been with for a long time. But, like I said earlier – the world doesn’t revolve around me. We don’t always get what we want – because we forget what the LORD wants for us. After a few months of being down South, my family and I became members of a church where my uncle is the pastor. I got involved in their youth group and saw the LIGHT OF CHRIST in the other students that went there. I wanted my life to look like that too. I wanted my actions to match up with the prayer I prayed when I was 4-years-old. I confessed that I was a sinner, asked forgiveness of all my sins and asked Jesus to come live inside my heart. In return, I should have been LIVING FOR HIM all along. Ever since then, my desire and thirst for God and His Word has grown tremendously and each day I am challened to die to myself and live for Him, my Savior. I ended up being able to go to a Private Christian high school and met by current boyfriend there and made tons of amazing friends. Then I went off to college and am now in a Christian sorority! The Lord had other plans for me, I just didn’t know it yet. His plan was for me to be living here all along – He knew it would bring me closer to Him. All the trials that I went through helped shape the person I am today. “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking in anything.” – James 1:2-4

You may be asking yourself…why did she just ramble about her life? But like I said, I have a point.

Back to the topic of stories. That was mine. That was my testimony. But, I used to not even want to share it. “Who would care about my testimony, my story? It’s not good enough. I was never wandering down the wrong road and had a huge change of heart. I didn’t party in high school and then turn my life around. I wasn’t a drug addict or an alcoholic and miraculously got back on track. Those are the stories that people wanna hear about.” Those are some of the lies I used to believe. Satan was getting into my head, and I was letting myself by into all of this.

Maybe some of you feel the same way…maybe you feel like your story isn’t “special enough.” I am here to encourage you…don’t discount your story. God has allowed you to experience what you’ve gone through for a reason and a purpose that He may not have revealed to you yet. His timing is perfect. His will is perfect. Thank God for your story. Because guess what… your stories, THEY ALL REACH SOMEBODY. No matter what has happened in your life, God will use it. He will use you. I encourage you to be BOLD and PROUD of where you started, where you’ve been and where you are. LIVE IT OUT.

5 thoughts on “Don’t Discount Your Story.

  1. The verse from James you mention is the theme of a song I wrote under a blog entry “all is grace”. Hope you enjoy. Loved your ‘story’!

  2. What an awesome awesome post, really enjoyed reading it, I was the same when I started my blog, I have only been doing it for 2 months now and I am addicted, I try to do one post a day and somehow the Lord always reveals topics to me, I am so scared that eventually I will have nothing to write about but I feel blogging has helped me tremendously in my walk with the Lord.

    God Bless,

    I am sure you will become as addicted to it as I am

    1. Goodness, thank you for that response! I just decided to write it thinking no one would read it or care…but I woke up and I had 6 messages from people I didn’t know all saying positive things! So thank you so much! I appreciate it. Yes, I love to write and I think this is going to become very addicting, but in a good way. Sometimes it’s nice to get your feelings/emotions out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

