God was Faithful then, He’ll be Faithful now

God Was Faithful in 2011

Its a NEW year. As much as I can’t believe it, it’s here. This is not only a time for parties, celebrations, and fireworks. This is also a time of reflection. A time to look back on the past year of your life: to think, to ask questions, to remember the things that mattered..the things that impacted you, to be thankful, to reminisce with others, to look at pictures, and then… to wonder about the year to come.

Looking back on this past year… I realize I have changed so much. I definitely feel like a completely different person. A lot has happened during these past 12 months.

  1. I finished my freshman year in May and began my sophomore year of college in August.
  2. My family went on 3 amazing vacations this past summer: Kansas City, MO (July)…Atlanta, GA (June)…Destin, FL (May)
  3. My boyfriend and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary in March!
  4. My sister got her drivers license in November…(watch out people) 🙂
  5. I moved out of my parent’s house this past July into a house with 3 amazing roommates!
  6. I went on my 2nd mission trip in December: Gressier, Haiti – life was changed (read my previous blog post)
  7. I was initiated into the Sigma Phi Lambda Christian sorority at my university in August!
  8. I’ve developed deeper, more intentional relationships with some awesome girl friends this semester.
  9. My walk with the Lord has gotten SO much stronger over the past 3 months.

I feel very much like a different person, in a good way. Each month came with new challenges and surprises. But the Lord was FAITHFUL throughout it all. If I’ve learned anything this year, it is that God is faithful. We may not have thought that things went perfectly, but what happened was His will. And his will is always perfect. It says in Romans 12:2 that His will is GOOD, PLEASING and PERFECT.

 

I don’t know about you, but I love making New Years Resolutions. Now, this may be because I’m a list-making freak. (I literally make several lists a day). But I do enjoy thinking about the year ahead and wondering what things I’d like to accomplish. So here is my list…

  • Read through the entire Bible
  • Eat healthier & exercise more
  • Return to Haiti for at least a month
  • Go to sleep earlier
  • Do the BEST that I can in school
  • Read all the books on my list (there’s several)
  • Learn more Haitian Creole
  • Spend intentional time with the Lord at some point every day

I know I cannot do all of these things on my own. But…

“I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” – Philippians 4:13 (ESV)

I am so excited to see what the Lord does in my life this year. I am putting my faith and trust in Him because He is my Creator, my Savior, my Lord. He loves me more than I could ever imagine and understand and HE IS IN CONTROL of my future. His plans are greater for myself than mine could ever be. His ways will lead me down the path of righteousness. There was a song that the Children of Hope orphans sang to us often. It was the only song they knew in English. The chorus goes like this:

“Oh God, You are my God, and I will ever praise You. Oh God, You are my God, and I will ever praise You. I will seek You in the morning. I will learn to walk in Your ways and step by step You’ll lead me, and I will follow You all of my days.”

This song paints such a beautiful picture of surrender.

I WILL SEEK YOU IN THE MORNING…

“You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.” – Jeremiah 29:13 (ESV)

I WILL LEARN TO WALK IN YOUR WAYS…

” And now, Israel, what does the Lord your God require of  you, but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul.” – Deuteronomy 10:12 (ESV)

STEP BY STEP YOU LEAD ME…

“You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” – Psalm 16:11 (ESV)

AND I WILL FOLLOW YOU ALL OF MY DAYS…

“Then Jesus told his disciples, ‘If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.'” – Matthew 16:24 (ESV)

 

I give Him this year because I trust Him. Worrying about this year will do no good. It says in Matthew not to even worry about tomorrow because it has enough troubles of its own. I praise God for his faithfulness in 2011. I am thankful for my deepened relationship with the King. I pray He will continue to draw me nearer to Him and that I will be consistent in trusting His will. I encourage you all to do the same 🙂 It is very freeing. And “Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom…”

Happy New Year everybody!

2 thoughts on “God was Faithful then, He’ll be Faithful now

  1. What a beautiful post Ashley. You are an inspiring woman of God who I look up to very much. Thank you for encouraging others to live as vibrant Christians. Everyday. I look very forward to reading more of your posts. You are loved my dear.

Leave a Reply

