Embrace Your Place.

Embrace Your Place

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been eager to get to the next stage of my life. Either that or I’ve envied where someone else was in their life. I’ve recently been convicted of not EMBRACING where I am.

I couldn’t wait to be a teenager. I couldn’t wait to get my permit. I couldn’t wait to get my license. I couldn’t wait to graduate. I couldn’t wait to be an “adult”. I can’t wait to be done with college. I can’t wait to get married. I can’t wait to have kids. 

I’ve realized I’m spending too much time dreaming about the future and “planning” up my life. I don’t take the time to embrace where the Lord has me in my life at THIS moment.

This past November, I was at a women’s conference and the amazing Priscilla Shirer was speaking. She told a story about when she was cleaning out her mother’s attic and found her old diaries. She began flipping page after page skimming over the words she had written so long ago. Then it hit her; she realized she hadn’t ever “been where she was at the time.” She was always one step ahead, ready for the next big thing in her life. She continued to say how important it is for us to embrace where we are because God allows us to go through different seasons in our lives to TEACH us something, to REVEAL more of Himself and so that we can GROW in Him. What a shame it would be if we just focused on the future and completely missed what God was trying to teach us in the season we were previously in. That hit me SO hard. I completely related to that and since then, it has been on my heart to live in the present and be thankful for where God has me now.

But, it honestly is a daily struggle.

  • I have a boyfriend of almost 3 years and it’s hard to not wish we were older and could get married. I love to sit on pinterest for hours and look up wedding stuff. But I often have to remind myself that I am not at that stage in my life yet, and it’ll be more special when I get there if I can just be thankful for where I am now instead of wishing away my life.
  • After I got back from Haiti, I hated America. It was hard for me to be thankful for what I had… I was just disgusted. All I wanted to do was hop on a red-eye and be back in that wonderful country. I would have done anything. I had to pray SO hard (and I still do) about being grateful to live in America. I know that God can still use me in marvelous ways here in the U.S. just like He did in Haiti. God obviously has me here in the States right now for a reason.
  • A lot of my friends in college do not have to have jobs. Their parents pay for most of their things and they really only have one main focus: school. I find myself saying, “Oh, I wish!” all the time about their situations. I wish I could switch places with them. I wish I didn’t have to work. I wish my parents paid for more. I wish they had to work too so they would know what its like, etc. BUT I should be thankful that I do have a good, steady job. I should be grateful that my parents taught me so much about working and earning and living at such a young age. I should be seeing my job as a mission field and a witnessing opportunity for my co-workers.

Daily, I’ve just been learning more and more about contentment and the joy it brings. When we are living our lives comparing ours to others, focusing on the future, or wishing our lives were different… we cannot FULLY EXPERIENCE all that the Lord is teaching us in the present.

“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” – Philippians 4:11-12 (NIV)

I AM CONTENT BECAUSE

  • God has me right where he wants me.
  • I can be used for the glory of His Kingdom no matter where I am in my life.
  • I have more than I could ever need/want.
  • I am so blessed beyond what I could have ever imagined.
  • God is constantly teaching me things to further equip me… the question is… am I listening?”
“When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider this: God has made the one as well as the other. Therefore no one can discover anything about their future.” – Ecclesiastes 7:14 (NIV)

 

God has ME right where He wants me. God has YOU right where He wants you. Be open to Him, His plan, His will, and what He’s trying to teach you.

EMBRACE YOUR PLACE.

One thought on “Embrace Your Place.

  1. Hi Ashley, thank you for that insightful message it was very powerful, reminds me of one of my own. I’m learning to embrace!

Leave a Reply

