Will you trust His will?

Will you trust His will

As each day passes, God is faithful to teach me more and more about His heart and His character. It is when I am in the consistently in the Word and actively seeking God that I find myself thirsting to learn more of who He is. Recently, I’ve been blown away by what God is doing in my life.

Without going into detail, a lot has happened in my life lately that has forced me to return to this truth: God’s will is perfect. God’s timing is perfect. 

“Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.” – Romans 12:2 (NLT)

When I am going through hardships that are confusing and when I’m confused and unsure, I have to remind myself of a few things.

(1) Remember that this life is not about me. It’s not about MY comfort, MY happiness, MY security, etc. It’s about MY purpose, WHICH IS: To bring glory to God & to make His name known. I felt God recently remind me of this. Everything in this life is about bringing Him more glory. God is going to allow the situations we go through in life to happen according to whatever brings Him the most glory. Even if it doesn’t make sense to us. Even if it doesn’t seem like it would bring Him more glory… we cannot see the whole picture. Only God understands the end result of what we’re going through at the time. That is why James 1:2 is so important.

“Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy.” – James 1:2 (NLT)

We are called to count it PURE joy when we face adversities. Essentially, we’re supposed to consider our “burdens” blessings. Why? How? Because, even though we can’t comprehend it, Christ is getting the glory – in some way. We just need to TRUST Him.

(2) Pray that His desires become my desires.

“Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires.” – Psalm 37:4 (NLT)

I heard a sermon on this verse and what the pastor said really spoke to me. Many people confuse the meaning of this verse with the true meaning. When we delight in the Lord, it’s not that he gives us all the non-eternal, materialistic, earthly desires of our hearts. When we truly DELIGHT IN THE LORD, our heart’s DESIRE (one and only true, deep desire) should be HIM. Our Lord and Savior.

(3) Believe in His will & His timing. Instead of praying for specifics that I think that I want or I need at that time, I pray for HIS will in the tough situations. Because, no matter what – God’s will is going to happen. As long as I’m praying for the Lord’s will for my life, no matter what comes at me (bumpy roads or smooth sailing), I’ll know that it is in His will.

These are the things I hold onto & put my hope in. Remember that life is about bringing God glory & making His name known. Pray that His heart’s desires become your heart’s desires. Believe in the Lord’s will for your life & His perfect timing. He is writing my story. No matter what is happening in my life, good or bad, God will use it.

As I’m typing this, I’m talking to myself as well. Personally, this is difficult for me. I want to be an Event Planner when I get older. I’m the queen of planning, sticky-notes, details, lists and more lists. But I have really felt God softly saying to me, “I am the ultimate Planner.” I can plan all I want. I can make all the lists & schedules I want. But at the end of the day…the only plan that matters is God’s plan… which is His will for my life.

God’s will is perfect. God’s timing is perfect. 

I’ll leave you with this…

“And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.” – Romans 8:28 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

