Simplify to Glorify

Simplify to glorify

Wow, I haven’t written in a while. It feels good to sit down with a blank page in front of me to spill my thoughts onto; or God’s thoughts rather. The Lord has been speaking to me A LOT lately about a few specific things, and I would love to share with y’all.

How many of you are people-pleasers?

 

 

That’s what I thought. Hold those hands up high! It’s a good thing, right? You want to make people happy and proud of you, am I correct? What’s bad about that?! The answer: NOTHING…

UNTIL…it becomes more important than pleasing GOD.

I’m sure none of us would say that we actually prioritize others’ happiness over the Lord’s happiness…purposefully. But we DO do it, whether we realize it or not.

 

How many things are you involved in? List them out! Doesn’t it feel good to be apart of things? Now look at your list and ask yourself this question: Which things on this list are without a doubt from the Lord?

 

Since Thanksgiving is right around the corner, let’s relate this to food. It’s easy to take your plate and fill it and fill it and fill it until it’s overflowing. Turkey. Mashed Potatoes. Green Bean Casserole. Stuffing. Dressing. Cornbread. Vegetables. Pumpkin Pie. It’s all GREAT — but too much will make you sick. It ALWAYS seems like a good idea when you’re going through the buffet line, but after your meal (when you can’t move for 3 hours) you start to wish you had maybe ate a little less.

That’s what I did, and usually tend to do. I take each blank semester and jam pack it with tons of things: classes, job, bible studies, homework/studying, church functions, leading at church, internship work, family time, friend time, etc — all wonderful things, right? Yes. Sure, bible studies, church leadership positions and church activities are all glorifying to the Lord… BUT overcommitting yourself SO much that it spreads you too thin and takes time away from you spending quality & intimate time with Him…that is when it becomes un-glorifying.

And this life… is ALL about glorifying our Savior. If you are involved in all those things, please, don’t misunderstand what I’m saying. All of those things are GREAT! And some people can balance/juggle more than others. I just tend to always bite off more than I can chew because I’m naturally a people pleaser.

However, the Lord is teaching me to SIMPLIFY TO GLORIFY Him more. Now, I am taking the time to pray through my investments, relationships and commitments. I never ever ever ever ever (Taylor Swift song come to mind?) want to prioritize my temporary, earthly involvements above the One who gave me life, eternal life. My time is a blessing and a gift from Him… what I do with my time is my gift BACK to Him. I should want to make HIM proud, above all. No I don’t want to hurt others’ feelings…but am I just as concerned about hurting God’s feelings as I am about hurting people here on earth? Truthfully, no.

But I am being super prayerful about what God specifically has for my life. Because He does have a plan for me and I want to stick to what He has…because lets face it, it’s FAR better than anything I could dream up!

“For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ Jesus.” – Galatians 1:10 (ESV)

 

Be a God-pleaser. You will be blessed
Never forget, He loves you. He wants you, all of you.
So give Him ALL of you, whatever that looks like.

 

Simplify to GLORIFY.

Leave a Reply

