Sometimes All It Takes is a Spark

sometimes all it takes is a spark

This has certainly been one tough, interesting semester.

  • I moved home after living on campus for a year.
  • The school year started off with a hurricane, which just makes every semester have a weird beginning.
  • I was SO stressed about my classes for the first time, ever. I ended up dropping 1, adding 2, and then dropping 2.
  • There was a bomb threat on campus. I was LITERALLY scared for my life.
  • The Painted Posse was ALL over the news.
  • I had to revisit my involvements/commitments.
  • And the worst: my sweet grandfather passed away.

It’s been an eventful semester to say the least. But I will say that throughout this roller coaster of a semester, the Father has always been faithful; even when I haven’t. This has definitely been a hard semester for me in every way: emotionally, physically, mentally, and spiritually.

It’s always hard to come down from a peak in your spiritual walk and realize you’re in a valley. When you’re at the top you always think, “I can’t imagine not feeling this way!” But, Satan is real and present in the world today. We get easily distracted. We believe lies. We get deceived. We get discouraged. We stray off the path.

After my grandpa passed away, I lost it. It was a weird situation – I had this strong desire to follow his example more & be more Christ-like, but at the same time I couldn’t bring myself to pick up my Bible or pray much. It was tough. I felt empty and NOT like myself. It was like I was on autopilot every day. And it’s only been about a month and a half since he passed away, so I’m still getting back on my feet and climbing from my valley to the mountain peak. But, at least I’m climbing. 

I saw my very first shooting star driving home last night. At first I was so excited! I gasped and, like a 5-year-old, made a wish. Then as I continued to drive, I couldn’t help but replay it over and over in my mind. It lit up like a sparkler in the night, bolting across the sky. I just smiled and got teary-eyed because it reminded me that my grandpa is up in the heavens watching over me. It made me not want to disappoint him. AND if I didn’t want to disappoint my earthly grandfather, how much more should I not want to disappoint my HEAVENLY FATHER? It sparked something in me; it lifted my eyes to the heavens and woke me up in a way.

He is FAITHFUL to bring us back to Him.

I can see God in all things, every day, big or small: a beautiful sunset, a unexpected tip at work, a good grade in a hard class, a song played on the radio at the perfect time, kindness from a stranger, a wonderful parking spot, a new perspective, rays of light beaming from a cloud, or even a shooting star.

Scan7 18
Loved him from the beginning.

Me, my sister, Lindsey, & grandpa on Sunday - his favorite day!
What a handsome man!Thankful he got to see me graduate high school!
My grandparents that are SO near and dear to my heart. Because grandpa is in Heaven, there is a little bit of Heaven in our home.
My grandparents that are SO near and dear to my heart. Because grandpa is in Heaven, there is a little bit of Heaven in our home.

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23 (ESV)

We all go through valleys in our Christian walks. But… how do we get out? … move forward? …start climbing again?

Sometimes, all it takes is a spark.

