What Makes You Feel Alive?

what makes you feel alive

Last night, I was laying in my bed and thinking about this question:

WHAT MAKES YOU FEEL ALIVE?

That’s my favorite question to ask people. It’s not the ordinary, “What’s your favorite color?” or “What would you do with a million dollars?” – and while these are great questions, this one is different. It catches people off guard and urges them to dig deeper and truly think about themselves.

There are MANY things that make me feel alive.

Watching snow fall. Worship music. Riding roller coasters. Being with the people I love most. Traveling to new places. Experiencing other cultures. Catching up with an old friend. Finishing a good book. Getting all dolled up and feeling like a million bucks. Being at the beach. Laying under the stars in Haiti. Trying something for the first time. Watching/listening to musicals. Being in a library. Laying outside, it doesn’t matter where. Driving, rolling the windows down & blaring music on a warm sunny day. Reading the Bible.

But there was something that I experienced recently that made me feel ALIVE.

I saw the newly released movie, Les Misérables. I love love love love LOOOOOVE musicals. And this one is one of my absolute favorites! I was more excited for this movie to be released on Christmas than actual Christmas! No lie.

The music in the movie is just beautiful. I was grinning, wide-eyed and teary-eyed, throughout the entire thing! I felt the same thing while I was watching Wicked, the musical. It made my heart beat faster, my emotions overwhelmed and my soul feel free.

The storyline is the best though. The way the actors/actresses gave everything they had to these performances was incredible. It’s such a beautiful story of grace and love. The friar shows grace to Jean Valjean, a convict, at the beginning and you see the impact it had on his life from that point on. Javert never believed he could change, but it was impossible for him to be who he was before he was shown grace and given a 2nd chance. I love paralleling this story to us and Jesus.

“As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins,  in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. All of us also lived among them at one time,gratifying the cravings of our flesh and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature deserving of wrath. But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved.” – Ephesians 2:1-5 (NIV)

We were sinners. Undeserving of His love. But God is merciful, and loving, and full of grace and forgiveness. He sent His only Son to die on the cross for OUR sins so that we could have eternal life in heaven with Him. If we accept His gift and allow Him to become Lord of our lives, we are CHANGED.

Just like Jean Valjean, it’s impossible for us to be who we were before Christ. We will disobey, and wander off of the right path, but with Christ living inside of us… we are forever changed. Such a beautiful truth.

There are many things, like I said earlier, that make me feel alive.

But, what makes ME feel alive the most? The Lord. He MADE me alive in Christ when I was DEAD in my sins. By His grace, I am saved.

Leave a Reply

