My Adventure is Now

I’m a dreamer.

No doubt about it. I love to think about and dream up all the exciting things that I want to experience in the future. Often times I’d like them to be in the ((near future)) instead of just settling for “maybe someday.”

I am always wanting to have an “adventure” or travel to some exotic place. Who doesn’t right? These have always been some of my favorite places to daydream about:

1
France
2
Ireland
3
Greece
4
Italy

Movies, books, internet stories, paintings, magazines, friend’s pictures… ANYTHING having to do with traveling to places like these make my heart ACHE with a desire to just GO.  I can’t explain how hard I’ve just WISHED and WISHED and WISHED that I could go to Europe.

I seem to always equate GOING and TRAVELING with adventure. If you’re flying to exotic places, whatever your reasoning, you’re adventurous in my book for some reason. But, why?

I pondered that WHY this morning. What makes going to Italy or Australia or China more adventurous than staying where I am? Yes, it is definitely a change of pace, it is definitely fun and exciting… but why do I feel like I need passport stamp to check “Going on an Adventure” off the list?

What God has been teaching me all summer is that He has me right where He wants me. I am literally walking in God’s will right now, wherever I am. And THAT is my adventure. 

For the time that the Lord allows me to be on planet earth, my purpose is to GLORIFY Him. Wherever I am. Turkey. Haiti. China. Africa. Ireland. Italy. Greece. France. America.

I am where I am for a reason. What God is having me experience is the season of life that He has me in now.

If I keep dreaming of where I would rather be, I am missing out on where He has me NOW and what He’s trying to teach me.

“Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.” Psalm 139:7-10

My ESV Study Bible explained this verse SO well. They said that “there is no way we can escape such knowledge: there is nowhere in the universe that God will not be present to lead and hold the believer.” How amazing is that?!

5

My adventure is wherever God takes me. MY ADVENTURE IS NOW.

Leave a Reply

