God Knows What He Is Doing

god knows what he is doing

There are many things going on in my life + I have recently had some down time to [reflect] on what the Lord has done. He has allowed each experience, big or small, that I have been through to lead me to where He needs me to be. His faithfulness is undeniable as I look back at my life’s journey so far.

Growing up in Missouri, I believed my life was perfect. Amazing friends, beautiful house, family surrounding me, wonderful school, great neighborhood… then we moved to Michigan. Although I had a hard adjustment, I grew to love my life there. I became very comfortable + made great friends. There wasn’t much to complain about + life was going along great… then we moved again. This time, we moved down south to the great state of Louisiana. At first, I was miserable. I had no friends, it rained every day, the humidity was unbearable + I was very unhappy. However, the longer I spent in this cajun state, the more I grew to love it as well.

God allowed me to go to a wonderful high school which is where I met my, as of one week ago, fiancé! I have had the privilege of attending the Manship School of Mass Communication at  Louisiana State University + majoring in Public Relations.

I have a lot coming up in this next year with graduating college, planning a wedding + preparing for a marriage. I feel so blessed, but not just currently. I am able to playback my life in my mind + envision the Lord’s hand guiding me in the plan He has for my life. I think of Laura Story’s song, “Blessings.”

“What if Your blessings come through rain drops? What if Your healing comes through tears? What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near? What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise?”

It’s such a beautiful song and the lyrics couldn’t be more true. I ask myself the question, “What got me to where I am today?” If I had not moved to Michigan, my family would not have suffered financially like we did. If we did not suffer financially like we did, my dad would not have looked for other jobs. If my dad had not looked for other jobs, we would not have moved to Louisiana. If I had not moved to Louisiana, I would have never gone to the high school I did. If I didn’t attend that high school, I would not have become best friends with Joel. If I had not become best friends with him, I would not have dated him. If I wouldn’t have dated him, I wouldn’t have fallen in love with him. If I wouldn’t have fallen in love with him, I would not be his fiancée right now. Also, if I hadn’t moved to Louisiana, I would not have gone to LSU. If I hadn’t gone to LSU, I would not have experienced the greatness of the Manship School. If I would not have been in the Manship School, I would not have fallen in love with PR as much as I did. 

Each season of life that the Lord specifically had me in was for a [reason] + [purpose]. I want to remember this when hard times come again. Because they will, I know they will. But the reality of the Lord’s faithfulness is too great to not remember so that it affects the actions of how I handle change + trials. I learned at a conference recently that “trials are training.” We don’t always look at them like that though, do we? I had to go through the difficulties, uncomfortable moments + hardships to be where I am today. And there is no safer place than walking in His will.

A lot of people have been asking me this question recently: “What are you gonna do after you graduate?” The answer: I don’t know. I have tried to answer it but I end up being reminded that I have no idea. This is the first year of my life since I was five years old that I haven’t known that the next year of my life would involve school. So now, I have this blank slate ahead of me. And I truly don’t know what I am doing. I know I’ll be planning a wedding, preparing for a marriage + working; I don’t know where + in what ways. I realize that only God knows the intricate details of my life. I believe He will lead me, guide me + take care of me as I seek His plan for my life.

22 years of it has unfolded + I cannot wait to see what the rest will look like. God knows what He is doing.

Leave a Reply

