It’s Okay to Be Real

computer_typing

I think it’s safe to say that the social media content we are exposed to in our everyday life isn’t always real. I don’t mean that it is fake or untrue; I simply mean that it isn’t the whole story. Because who would want to post the whole story, am I right?

Why would we post a picture of our breakdowns in the car? Why would we waste time editing a photo of us laying on the couch debating our purpose in life? Why on earth would we update our status about how depressed we are in our current season of life? No one cares. No one wants to read that. We should only upload the days filled with good books and naps, local coffee houses and good conversations, sunshine and picnics, hammocks and lemonade. That’s what people care about.

Who here is having a bad day? I am putting up my hand. Today has not been the best. I will spare you the details, because they’re not necessary. But I thought about blogging and then the thought quickly entered my head, “No one cares.” And it was followed by, “Blog when you come out of this rut and you have some encouraging words to say.”

I was then immediately bothered by that second thought. WHY? Why do I have to wait for the moments of brilliance and encouragement to enter my mind before I actually type them out. What if I post about how I am actually feeling?

So, world, right now… I am currently upset about not being able to find a job.
I am annoyingly not able to think of anything else today.

But you wrote a blog recently about how God had it all under control and how you would find the perfect one at the perfect time?
I know.

That was another factor as to why I didn’t want to write this blog. I didn’t want to be judged for not taking my own advice. But the fact is, there are days of joy and days of frustration in this life. There are days when you can give all the advice in the world and days when it’s hard to take it.

It’s not that I don’t believe that God is sovereign. I do. It’s not that I don’t believe He has the perfect job for me at the perfect time. I do. It’s just that today, I am just a little down about it. And I’ve had to tell myself that it’s okay. It’s okay to be real. It’s okay to be vulnerable. It’s okay to be sad and to wonder. This just happens to be one of those days. So I am being real.

I am also not writing this to get sympathy from anyone. Although kind words are always nice, this was a way for me to let my feelings out. I already feel a little better.

I guess what I’m trying to say is… don’t be afraid of how you truly feel. And don’t be afraid to share it. I shared how I felt with a friend today and she reminded me, “God meets us in those blah days and sad moments.” Don’t be afraid to be real.

One thought on “It’s Okay to Be Real

Leave a Reply

