LITTLE THINGS

8aa3b5696f9af3d128dc18931ea1ebfe

I am sitting here on this ordinary Saturday afternoon thinking about how lucky I am. It’s been one of those days that just reminds you that God is present always, even in the little things.

He is absolutely present in the big things too. Things that I am very grateful for. I am on the verge of getting a full-time job. I have an amazing husband. I have a roof over my head, food on my table, clothes in my closet. My family is the best. My wedding could not have gone more perfectly.

But today, I am thankful for the little things. The little things that have made my day particularly special.

I unashamedly ate 3 donuts for breakfast.
And, what goes better with donuts than chocolate milk? The answer is nothing.

I watched You’ve Got Mail for the first time & loved it.
But, who doesn’t love Meg Ryan? It’s on Netflix. You’re welcome.

I wrote thank-you notes with my brand new monogrammed stationery.
Seeing my new initials makes me smile.

I listened to the Sleepless in Seattle soundtrack.
There’s something about old music.

I wore my new favorite sweater.
This fall weather is incredible.

I read my current book, Cold Tangerines.
Although reading is one of my favorite pastimes, I don’t often get around to it. 

Yep, that’s it. Some (maybe most) of you would not consider these things extraordinary or special at all. You may even find boredom in my above statements. But to those of you who can relate to me, this day sounds like a dream. Let me tell you, it is! And the day isn’t even over yet!

There is nothing like experiencing a day made up of a string of perfect little moments. Little moments that make you feel alive. Little moments that put a smile on your face. Little moments that touch your soul.

God created each of us with likes, preferences, opinions, desires, passions. He wired us each so wonderfully different. While an afternoon of reading sounds divine to me, it sounds like a nightmare to my husband. And spending an entire Saturday morning watching football seems horrible to me, but my husband would want nothing more.

I love that God placed different desires/wants/likes inside each of us. It allows us to be who He made us to be. It shapes who we are, how we act, who we spend time with, where we work and what we do with our life. I feel like when He allows us to have days filled with our favorite things, it’s Him saying that He cares so deeply about us. The innermost parts of us. Which He knit together in our mother’s wombs, by the way. No big deal.

So, in the spirit of Thanksgiving being right around the corner, I am going to list the little things that I am thankful for. I could probably go on forever, so I will spare you from this post being as long as a Harry Potter novel and only list a few:

I am thankful for…

  1. old music.
  2. seasonal flavors (pumpkin spice, eggnog, peppermint, gingerbread).
  3. automatic coffee pots.
  4. wedding gift registries.
  5. library cards.
  6. fall clothes.
  7. my passport stamps.
  8. fabric softener.
  9. group texts with best friends.
  10. Christmas music being played early on the radio.
  11. the smell of bonfires.
  12. my wedding band.
  13. the new taylor swift album, 1989.

Life is beautiful and God is good. Amen?

Make a list of what makes you happy. Then go find those things. Or who knows, maybe they’ll find you.
Look for the little things in your day-to-day routine that make you feel alive. Because sometimes it’s the little things that make you feel the most thankful.

Leave a Reply

