In the Moment

d2c1e96e14ae43f2e8ebcb92d8dcc8b7

Yesterday morning I pulled out of my neighborhood to go to work. As I was pulling out onto the main road, I saw the most beautiful sunrise. The sky doesn’t normally look like that when I leave in the mornings, therefore I immediately noticed it. I sort of gasped. It was just magnificent. I think I even said, “Oh, wow!” audibly. It was such a treat to me.

I drove up to a stop light and reached down to grab my smart phone. I just had to take a picture of this. I thought maybe I would snap the perfect picture and #latergram it. However, as I took a few photos, I realized they were not coming out how I wanted. They didn’t look like the real thing. So much so that taking the picture and posting it wasn’t even worth it, I decided.

Suddenly, I knew why it was not working out. I was trying to capture this amazing moment in a photograph, this beautiful sunrise that the Lord created. I was ruining the moment by attempting to take a picture of it. I was so focused on getting the perfect image of the real view that I couldn’t enjoy the real view. I put my phone down, smiled and just stared. I stared into that big beautiful sky.

I felt the Lord smiling down on me too. I felt Him saying, “My Child, it is going to be a good day. I am with you.”

Isn’t God amazing? He just is. He never fails to reveal His faithfulness and love for us.

Next time we see a beautiful scenery, think twice before grabbing your camera. I’m not saying that snapping pictures of moments is wrong, at all. I am simply stating that it could be a moment in which you can deeply inhale and exhale, smile and appreciate the physical beauty of the moment you are in.

Live in the moment. Wherever you are, be all there. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

